The boy who lived.

Posted: July 10, 2011 in general thoughts
Tags:

There are things that change your life.  Marriage for instance, or having a baby… not that I see either of those things happening to me in the foreseeable future…  but that’s not the point of today’s post.  Today, I am unleashing my inner fan girl and I’m going to talk about Harry Potter, because yes, “the boy who lived” changed my life.  The books introduced me to an entire new world, allowed me to make wonderful new friends (all across the country!) and helped me to become a much better writer.  It reinvigorated my imagination and is some of the best “page-turner” writing I’ve ever read.

As most everyone probably knows, the final installment in the HP movie franchise will be released this Friday and after Friday it will officially be over.  (I’m not sure how I feel about pottermore exactly, so at the moment Friday is the end for me, I don’t know if this community JKR is creating will actually do anything to extend the series that for me (sadly) is coming to a close).

I will be seeing a midnight showing with a group of 40 or so people, and I will be in costume as will most everyone in the group.  I told a few people this, co-workers for instance and they seem to think I’m nutters.  They do NOT understand it at all, my NEED to see this film at midnight, surrounded by other HP lovers.  On many levels that saddens me.  I first read the books in 7th or 8th grade and was utterly addicted.  All through high school and college I attended book launch parties and midnight premiers and was in seventh heaven at each one.  Surrounded by people and fans who loved the characters as much as I did, who wanted to go to Hogwarts and put on that sorting hat, who could recite their favorite lines for you from memory… how could you NOT want to be a part of that?  It’s a once in a lifetime moment!   As for the dressing up… I’m all for dramatics.  If it makes it more fun then why not do it?  It’s certainly not hurting anything and doesn’t make me a daft ninny.

That being said, I’m not sure what else I wanted to accomplish in this post, but HP means enough to me that I felt it necessary to write something about it.  I’m so sad its ending, excited for the final film (goose bumps every time I see a trailer on TV) and hope that you are out there enjoying HP that night so you don’t miss out on the once in a lifetime moment.

I won’t be posting Thursday, except perhaps to show off my costume.  A review and pictures from the premier will be up Friday evening when I get home from work.  I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from Goblet of Fire:  “It’s a strange thing, but when you are dreading something, and would give anything to slow down time, it has a disobliging habit of speeding up.” 

Leave a Reply

